Home

Editor’s Note: The following is a guest post from Special Olympics athlete and former International Global Ambassador David Egan. Preview

Everyone looks up to someone. For me, I look up to my mom, my dad, my brother and a colleague of mine.  I also look up to a good friend of mine named Parker, who has been a role model to me over the course of our friendship.

I met Parker when I started swimming for Special Olympics seven years ago.  He is my coach, and has helped me become a good swimmer and a confident person.  He helped me succeed in swimming by encouraging me to be and do my best, he challenged me to learn different strokes, he helped me master the individual medley, and he taught me how to do a flip turn.   Parker and I are competitors.  In the pool, he pushes me to swim faster than I would by myself.

I look up to Parker out of the pool, too. Parker is one of my best friends. We got to movies, hang out together, and we email back and forth during the week.  Parker has been there for me, and has become another brother to me.

I know don’t thank Parker enough for what he has done in my life.   And I know you probably have people in your life that you feel the same way about. So tell me, who do you look up to?

-David

Leave a Reply

