Home

This past weekend, I was down at the University of Richmond for the 2011 Special Olympics Virginia Summer Games and it was exciting. Over 1,200 athletes competed in Athletics, Aquatics, Softball, Bowling, Power-lifting and Tennis! I competed in aquatics for my local area program, Area 23 (Prince William County).

Aquatics competition began on Friday for me with the 4x25m Medley Relay. I was the Breaststroke Leg for my team and we took the gold medal with a time of 1:34.06. Opening Ceremonies were impressive as well, since the University of Richmond’s Men Basketball Head Coach spoke. Saturday was the final day of competition for Aquatics. In my first individual event, the 25m Freestyle, I took bronze with a new personal best of 0:19.54! :) My grand finale aka my last individual event, the 50m Breaststroke was the highlight race of my experience. What I mean by highlight is that I took the gold medal with an impressive and season best time of 0:48.09!!!

At the Closing Ceremonies, SOVA introduced its eight athlete delegation that will be a part of Special Olympics Team USA at the 2011 Special Olympics World Summer Games in Athens, Greece. In the end, it was great experience to be back after being one year removed. I can’t wait for the 2012 Summer Games! :)

Here are some photos that were taken on my camera during my time at Richmond.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thought on “2011 Special Olympics Virginia Summer Games Experience

  1. I’m an athlete from area 23 & bowling is my sport.I had a great time at state games this past weekend & took fourth place in my division.I hope to be selected for state games or even national games again in the future as it was a really great experience.I’m in the area 23 group photo standing just to the right of one of my teammates in the back row who is wearing the white Duke university blue devils t-shirt.

Leave a Reply

